You are here

Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards 2016


Skål International is proud to announce the call for submissions to the 2016 Sustainable Tourism Awards.


Skål International is an Affiliate Member of the UNWTO whose mission is to promote the development of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism. We have adopted the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics in Tourism, and also support the ST-EP initiative (Sustainable Tourism-Eliminating Poverty). Skål is affiliated to other important international organisations such as IIPT, The Code, ECPAT, ICTP, STI.

Following the United Nations declaration of 2002 as the Year of Ecotourism and the Mountains, Skål International launched these Awards in the same year, to highlight and acknowledge best practices around the globe. As an international organisation of tourism industry leaders, Skål International is a powerful force in the travel and tourism industry to initiate change and encourage the conservation of the environment in order to promote tourism and travel.

Now in its 15th year, the Sustainable Tourism Awards, while highlighting best practices in tourism around the world, also serve the purpose of acquainting the world with this new concept that puts emphasis on the importance of the interaction of the physical, cultural and social environment, the traveller's responsibility and the need for active community participation for Sustainability.

Any company from the public and private sector, NGOs and government agencies worldwide are welcome to submit an entry in one of the nine available categories:

  • Tour Operators
  • Urban Accommodation
  • Rural Accommodation
  • Transportation
  • Countryside and Wildlife
  • Marine
  • Community and Government Projects
  • Major Tourist Attractions
  • Educational Institutions/Programmes and Media


Why should you enter these Awards?

The awards programme is a platform to increase visibility and get recognition of your outstanding performance in terms of sustainable and responsible tourism. The winners will be invited to personally collect the awards during the Opening Ceremony of the 77th Skål World Congress on Sunday 30 October 2016 in Monaco. The awards will be presented by the President of Skål International, Mr. Nigel Pilkington. In addition, the winners will have the possibility to promote their products during the B2B held during the Congress and will receive media worldwide exposure.

The deadline to submit applications online is 30 June 2016 at 23:59 CET. There are no entry fees.

For full information, please consult our brochure and click here to enter online. If you have any query, please contact


Skål Destination of the Year 2020